Why Rehumanizing Your B2B Brand on Social Media Will Take Your Marketing Efforts to the Next Level

--

Why it’s so important to your online success and how you can easily do it.

Photo by inlytics | LinkedIn Analytics Tool on Unsplash

Re-humanizing your brand is a mouthful. I mean when is a brand perceived as human? Well nowadays being a human brand is the key to your success. This is a term I first encountered reading Mark Schaffer’s book ‘Marketing Rebellion’. Which talks about the concept of the most ‘ human’ company winning over others that aren’t human.

Having read that in Mark’s book, I started thinking to myself… Why haven’t B2B companies done this before? If you analyze some of the biggest B2B companies in the world you’ll see that they have started transitioning their message to sound more ‘ human’, but their social channels?

Just aren’t there yet.

There is a scattered amount of ‘human’ posts but it’s just not consistent. But of course, not all of them are bad at it, Microsoft’s Instagram is amazing. They’ve even created an Instagram called “Microsoft life” which shows their employees and how it is to work for Microsoft.

Photo by @MicrosoftLife on Instagram

While the well known B2B companies have started making their companies more human (even if not quite perfect yet) a lot of small, mid and enterprise B2B companies aren’t even trying yet.

Photo by Diego PH on Unsplash

I then started thinking about the two B2B companies I’ve worked at. Both with company cultures that made people stick around and make life long friends, all while becoming the hottest startup/scale-up.

But you know one thing I never saw these companies do much?

Talk about their culture, employees and even the charity efforts they did to help others in need. Which was all done with no intention of gaining popularity or increasing their reputation. And this isn’t something that only applied to these two companies, I’ve heard of many companies not sharing their thriving company cultures and charity effort with the world.

When you think of a ‘human’ company you think of a company that helps its employees and others in need to succeed. I mean building a school with a science lab for underprivileged kids, counts in my book as a human effort of a company trying to make the world a better place. Why aren’t these companies sharing the amazing things they do for their employees and others in the world?

With that in mind, I went into Q2 and Q3 of 2020 intending to show the ‘humans’ behind the B2B company I work for and make our organic social media channels more reflective of who the brand is. And I encourage any B2B social media marketer to do the same. The results speak for themselves and I’m writing another article talking about my 2019 and 2020 organic social strategy (in detail) to help any new social marketers compose their 2021 (and beyond) strategies. But here are some of the examples of things I’ve posted to show the human side of the brand.

I encourage you to rethink your B2B organic social media strategy and start to include more of who you are as a business and who your employees are. There is one thing I want to stress and that is — don’t fake it. If your company doesn’t have a company culture or doesn’t prioritize its relationship with employees, please fix that first instead of working on humanizing your brand on social media.

I’m a strong believer that B2B organic social media isn’t being used to its fullest potential and I’m here to teach you the benefits, the tactics (the ones that have worked and the ones that haven’t) you can use to be successful on social media without investing a dime in ads. Because yes, paid ads can bring you a handful of followers but it will never bring you as much rapid success as organic social can.

If you’re interested in anything and everything B2B organic social, then follow me here on Medium. Because in 2021 I’ll be giving you ALL my advice on how you can succeed.

--

--

Catharina Sartori Mensak
The Art of B2B Social Media Marketing

B2B Social Media Expert, advocate for human marketing, full-time writer, serial podcaster, dog & bird mom.